I didn’t know there was chicken in this soup!

April 30, 2012 § 2 Comments

Before I start my post, I wanted to say a big THANK YOU to Patricia at DeCamville Design for nominating me for the versatile blogger award! Check out the rest of her nominations– there are some great blogs on here. I was sooo excited to see this- Patricia made my day! I am going to work on my own list of nominations and hope to make someone else’s day πŸ™‚

Sorry for a very long absence. We had a lot of family in town, and then took a semi-spontaneous trip to Brazil for a few weeks. So, I have been a very bad blogger lately. We’ve still been cooking a lot, I just haven’t been taking pictures/measuring anything. When my family came to visit, we made our first trip to the seafood market here and made the most amazing seafood feast out by the grill. I will try to recreate those recipes to share them on here sometime πŸ™‚

We got back from Brazil last week and were still kind of in a food hangover. Simple food sounded good to both of us. When I was going to the store, Andrew asked me to buy some soup. I decided to try my hand at making it instead. So long sodium overload, BPA in the cans, etc. etc.

This is really easy to make. The only problem is the same one I have with all slow-cooking recipes: They smell so good and you have to wait sooo long before eating them. This can be made in a crockpot, but I chose to make mine in a Dutch oven (French oven? Are those the same thing?) so that I could brown the chicken first and keep everything in one dish. I made homemade noodles, but it would be good with regular noodles too.

With this soup I made homemade white sandwich bread which I will share on here too. It was a great, simple, wholesome meal. The recipe makes a ton, so I froze a lot of it in individual-ish portions to eat later on.

One more note- I only used 1.77 lbs of chicken. It was a package of 4 thighs. I added mushrooms, which are optional, so I cut down on the meat. It was definitely enough, but feel free to use more if you like it more meaty.

Ingredients

Soup

  • 2- 3 lbs. chicken.
  • 5 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 lb. carrots, peeled and cut into chunks or coins
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic minced + 4 more cloves (keep them separate)
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube (optional)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • pinch of rosemary
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2-1 lb mushrooms, cut into chunks (optional. And you don’t need these until just before serving so you can wait to cut them)

Noodles

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1-2 T water (or milk)

Recipe

If you are making this in a crockpot, throw everything in except for the mushrooms and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

If you are making it in a large pot/Dutch oven:

Rub salt and pepper on both sides of each piece of chicken. Heat cooking oil in the bottom of the pan. When it’s hot, add the first clove of minced garlic. Lay your chicken in (bones, skin, and all). Let the chicken brown for about 5 minutes, then flip the pieces and brown them on the other side. Add all of the remaining ingredients, except for the mushrooms. I also added maybe 1 cup of water to each box of chicken broth, swirled it around, and poured it in. Bring all the ingredients to a boil for 1 minute. Lower the heat either to low, or to barely simmering and cook for 6-8 hours.

Make your noodles, if you are making them yourself. In a large bowl, make a mound out of the flour. Make a big dent in the middle and pour the other ingredients in. With a fork, slowly incorporate all of the ingredients together. Spread some flour on a clean surface and knead the dough by hand for a few minutes, until the dough is smooth. (Go ahead and use a dough hook, if you have one, but it’s not too bad to do it by hand). Spray your boil with oil, put the dough back in, cover it, and let it rest for 5 minutes.

On your floured surface, roll the dough out to about 1/8 inch thickness. Flip it, and roll it very thin. I don’t have a great rolling pin, so this part was pretty tough for me. It would be a lot easier with a pasta roller. Let the dough dry for about an hour.

With a pizza cutter, cut the dough into 2 1/2 in. strips lengthwise. Slice the other way into thin slices. Separate the noodles and let them dry.

20 minutes before serving your soup, add the noodles and mushrooms to the pot. Turn the heat up to medium and cook for 20 minutes. At this point, you can taste your seasonings and add anything. One by one, take each chicken piece out, debone it, and put the chicken meat back in. You can remove the skin too, if you’d like.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to I didn’t know there was chicken in this soup!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I didn’t know there was chicken in this soup! at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

