Lemon Sugar Cookies

March 19, 2012 § 3 Comments

My good friend Jodi had these cookies at her rehearsal dinner last summer. I immediately thought that Andrew would LOVE them, but for some reason have deliberated in making them until now!

Then Meyer lemons were on sale and I was trying to make as many possible things with lemon as I could. Thus, remembered these delicious cookies. To tell you the truth, I’m not a big lemon-in-dessert-person. One of the reasons I made these was because I thought I wouldn’t be tempted to eat them and break my veganism. Well, I was wrong. I sneakily ate the crumbs that had fallen off the cookie rack, and from that point could not stop shoving them in my mouth. They are the perfect combination of crisp and chewy, sweet and sour.  A nice large bag of cookie dough balls has been frozen to use the same way I used these. I can’t wait to make lemon sugar cookie dough milkshakes….mmm.

One tip- I tried to half this recipe the first time. Since I couldn’t half an egg very easily, I just picked the smallest one and used it. I also tried to make enormous cookies- 1 Tablespoon instead of 1 teaspoon. Also, the first time I used an electric mixer. The second time I just mixed it by hand, which I think helped them to be softer and not overmixed. They still were delicious, but really really ugly. The recipe comes from here.

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks of butter, softened
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • zest of one lemon
  • 4 T lemon juice (about the juice of 1 small lemon)
  • sugar for rolling cookies

Recipe

Prepare a cookie sheet and preheat your oven to 350°. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together with a wooden spoon until smooth and fluffy.  Beat in the egg, vanilla extract, lemon zest, and lemon juice. In 3 additions, gradually add in the dry ingredients.

Put about 1/2 cup of sugar in a bowl. Roll teaspoons full of dough into a ball, and then coat with sugar.  I would put 5 or 6 balls in the bowl of sugar and then shake it all up until they were coated, then gently mold them back into a better looking ball. Place 1.5 inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes until lightly browned.

Let the cookie sheet cool for 2 minutes on the cookie rack before taking the cookies off and letting them cool the rest of the way.

 

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Lemon Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lemon Sugar Cookies at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

