Vegan Mint Chocolate Mousse

March 16, 2012 § 5 Comments

I made this yesterday and cannot stop eating it. Over half is gone and I am continuously shoveling it my face as I type this.  You seriously cannot tell that it is healthy and contains tofu.

I haven’t been cooking a ton lately, due to traveling, visitors, and the South by Southwest music festival going on right now. But I have missed blogging, and wanted to try something new! I found this recipe on one of the blogs I read from time to time. Most of the stuff I have tried from it is good, but definitely tastes healthy and light and isn’t super satisfying. So, I wasn’t expecting this one to taste as rich and delicious as it is! (Maybe because I added slightly more chocolate chips than it called for…can’t go wrong there!) Since I like things gooier, I used silken tofu instead of firm.

Andrew even liked this and commented on how good it was. And he is seriously scared of tofu (though I didn’t tell him what was in it until afterwards…maybe I scared him off but I guess there is more for me then!) Make this now. If you want it to be firmer and more pie-like, use firm tofu.

*Thanks to the nice folks at Zandunga for letting me use some of their mint leaves from their cute garden!

Ingredients

  • 1 package of silken tofu (mine was 12 oz.)
  • 1.5 cups of chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 T milk (whatever kind you want depending on whether you are vegan or not)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 tsp peppermint extract

Recipe

Melt the chocolate chips with the milk in the microwave. (Put it in for about 30 seconds at a time and stir after each time until melted). Put everything else in the food processor (or blender) and blend well. Pour into a pie pan or bowl and refrigerate.

 

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to Vegan Mint Chocolate Mousse

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vegan Mint Chocolate Mousse at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

