Sriracha Squash Hummus

February 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

I had plenty of squash leftover from my last post and figured I couldn’t go wrong throwing butternut squash into hummus. And Sriracha hot sauce, which pretty much makes everything better.

The result is sweet and spicy, and since hummus is so easy you can totally change the ingredients around to suit your taste. It would be a great place for my favorite sneak-in, turmeric, only I forgot to put it in.  I didn’t have tahini so I just used oil. Man I have got to buy tahini- it’s just always so expensive at the regular grocery store and I rarely go to international grocery stores.

This should work with pumpkin or canned squash, if you don’t have an entire roasted butternut squash waiting for you.

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 inch of ginger
  • 1 cup roasted butternut squash, or canned
  • 1-2 T Sriracha
  • 2 T oil of your choice- I used my favorite, coconut. Olive would be great- if you have tahini it would work too.
  • water

Recipe

Blend your garlic and ginger up first until they are well minced. You may need to add a little water to get things moving. Add everything else, minus the water and blend. Add enough water to make it as thin as you like your hummus.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sriracha Squash Hummus at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

