Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

February 22, 2012 § 1 Comment

40 days of vegan food for me…well a little less than 40. I’ve excused myself during my trip to Chicago and during any visitors’ trips to Austin…which is quite a lot of days but I’m just not a good enough person to have such self restraint  🙂

I actually do really enjoy trying out vegan recipes and foods, so Lent is a great time for me to force myself to do so. The hardest part will be having to cook double things for myself and Andrew…and cooking small enough portions so that I don’t have to throw food away just because it’s not vegan. I can sense myself already making another exception for “food that would otherwise go to waste” but let’s hope I don’t have to cheat even more than I already plan to.

I’ll still be cooking carnivore food for Andrew so this blog won’t be totally vegan until Easter; I do hope to try some delicious and exciting things to share though! These enchiladas were super good. And quite filling; since I have a huge appetite, I thought I’d need even bigger portions if the food was vegan. However, with the potatoes, black beans, and an entire avocado sitting on top it was actually really filling.

I used this as a guide, but I added most of my own spices and changed some ingredients around. It makes 4 enchiladas, plus lots of stuffing. It would easily feed 2 people (it fed Maya 2 times), more if you have a smaller appetite.  You can also change the spices around to suit your tastebuds.

Ingredients

Enchiladas

  • 1 sweet potato, cubed
  • cooking oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 green pepper (or other color), diced
  • handful of mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of spinach, chopped
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2.5 cups of tomato based sauce (I used sauce I’d made for pizza the day before but enchilada sauce would be good too)
  • 1 T nutritional yeast (optional, but it makes it creamier)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 4 T lime juice
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4 tortillas
Avocado topping
  • 2-4 avocados (yielding 1.5 cups of flesh)
  • 1.5 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro
  • salt, garlic powder, cumin, black pepper, cayenne pepper to taste
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper would be great- I didn’t have one but I would think it would taste awesome in this

Recipe

Cook the sweet potato in simmering water for 5-10 minutes- just to soften it slightly. Drain the pot and set aside.

In a pot, heat your cooking oil. Add your garlic and saute until fragrant. Add your onions and cook until translucent. add the rest of your veggies (including the sweet potato) and cook for about 10 minutes on low heat. Preheat your oven to 350° and keep an 8×8 glass baking dish ready. (If you don’t use glass, line it with parchment paper or foil).

Add your sauce and seasonings and stir well. Spread 3/4 cup to 1 cup of the filling in the bottom of the pan. Fill each tortilla with the filling, wrap it, and place them side by side in the pan. Spoon the remaining filling on top. Bake for 20 minutes

Make your avocado topping. Note: If you aren’t going to eat all the enchiladas in one sitting, just make enough avocado topping for one sitting. For me this was one small avocado each time.

Blend the avocado with 2 T of water in the food processor until creamy. Add all other ingredients and blend well. Spoon it on top of the enchiladas when they are cooked. Garnish with more cilantro, or green onion, if you’d like.

§ One Response to Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

