Pasta Carbonara

February 20, 2012 § 1 Comment

Andrew had a business trip for a few days last week. I had decided to use that time to experiment with vegan recipes since I am attempting to go vegan for Lent (at least as much as I can). His trip got postponed one day, which was great since I got to have him home for another day- and Valentine’s Day, but it also meant I didn’t really have much man-food for dinner.

This pasta dish is great because it uses stuff you probably have on hand- garlic, eggs, bacon, and pasta. I made it in such a hurry I was a little worried that I messed something up, but it turned out great.

I think that this is much better fresh though, so don’t make a huge batch. Because of the way you add the eggs in, it gets tougher when you reheat it. I made half of this recipe; Andrew ate the majority of it and we only had a little left over. I ate black bean enchiladas, which were delicious and will be posted soon.

Some people make/go out for huge romantic fancy dinners for Valentine’s Day…I just make my husband a random dinner by throwing things together in a skillet.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound bacon
  • 1 T chopped garlic
  • pepper
  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan

Recipe

Cook your pasta al dente; drain and set aside. While it’s cooking, fry your bacon until it is crispy; lay on a paper towel to cool and drain. Leave 1 T of bacon grease in the skillet (we used turkey bacon so there wasn’t even that much left). Add the garlic and season it with black pepper. Saute for 30 seconds. (Frying the garlic in bacon grease makes it taste pretty amazing). Crumble in the bacon and then add your pasta. Saute for one minute. Add salt  to your eggs. Remove the pan from the heat and whisk your eggs in. Whisk continuously so that the eggs thicken but do not scramble. Add in the cheese and as much salt and pepper as you’d like.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Pasta Carbonara

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pasta Carbonara at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

