“Pasta Voila”

February 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

This was a pretty made-up dish. But, Andrew told me it’s one of the best homemade Italian dishes he’s ever had so I’d say it was a success!

I started out making this, but given my inability to follow recipes without making impromptu changes I ended up cooking something quite different. There were only a few ingredient additions, but the end result tasted much different. This is super easy to make and tastes really good. I had leftover chicken stock and cream in the fridge that I was trying to get rid of- this was a good place to do so.

I just added a new tab called “Italian”…but I am always hesitant to add specific cuisines. I’m sure someone that is actually Italian would think that my stuff is definitely not, but since I have so many “Italianish” recipes on here I decided to make a new category. Anyway, I was trying to figure out what to call this spontaneous concoction; Andrew came up with “Pasta Voila”.

Happy Valentines’ Day to everyone! I’ve never cared about the holiday in terms of romance, but I do think it’s fun to give little cards and presents to friends and loved ones. I was still using little kids’ Valentines’ cards all the way through college 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • salt and pepper
  • butter or oil
  • 1 14 oz can stewed tomatoes
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 anchovy fillets, minced
  • 3 tsp capers, minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped pitted Kalamata olives
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup cream (or less if you’d like)
  • oregano, to taste
  • crushed red pepper, to taste
  • Fresh Parmesan or chopped parsley for garnish (optional)

Recipe

Put the shrimp in a plastic container and shake salt and pepper all over them. Close the container, shake well, and leave them in the fridge while you chop everything up. You can do this step a couple hours in advance as well.

In a skillet, heat butter or oil. Add your shrimp and quickly brown them on both sides. Set aside in a plate-or back in the container. You will be cooking them more so don’t worry about the raw shrimp juice. I am a huge fan of using as few dishes as possible.

Add your tomatoes to the pan. Scrape up any shrimp bits that have been left on the bottom of the pan and mix them up with the tomatoes. Let the tomatoes cook until the liquid has reduced (this should just take a few minutes).

Add your garlic, capers, olives, and anchovies. Mix well. Pour in 2 cups of chicken broth, stir well. Allow the mixture to simmer until it is thickened as much as you’d like it to be. Add the cream and stir. Add your shrimp back into the pan and allow them to cook fully (should only take a few minutes). Stir in oregano and crushed red pepper, to taste. Voila!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Pasta Voila” at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

