Crabcakes Benedict

January 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

I am a sucker for random trivia, and just tried to find out who this Mr. Benedict is that has such a delicious egg dish named after him. Alas, it’s one of those dishes that there are multiple theories about, and I have no idea which one is right. I bet the Pope eats this all the time…I would if it I could use the excuse that it has the same name as me.

A few years ago Andrew ordered this for brunch and loved it. (I did too, taking multiple generous bites of it. Whoops.)  Anyway, that day I decided I should make it the morning of his birthday as a surprise. That was in 2009 and it is now 2012 and I finally succeeded. His first birthday after we were together I was en route back from India and went straight from O’Hare airport to the United Center to watch the Bulls beat the Pistons. As I fell asleep. Great birthday for Andrew. His next birthday we were in Colorado, and a hotel room didn’t seem like a good place to try making fancy breakfasts.

Luckily for me, when I asked Andrew if he wanted breakfast in the morning he said he’d probably rather have breakfast for lunch when he came home.  Otherwise I would have had to wake up verrrry early to concoct this and not have the kitchen look like a disaster. The only piece of this dish I had ever tried before was the toasted English muffins…so it was quite the experiment! I guess I now can make crabcakes, poach eggs, and concoct Hollandaise sauce. Not as complicated as it sounds surprisingly!

Ingredients (makes 4 large Benedicts)

Hollandaise Sauce

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 T lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • pinch of cayenne pepper

Crabcakes

  • 8 oz lump crab
  • 1 slice of bread cut into small pieces + 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 T mayonnaise
  • 1/2 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • any other seasonings you’d like

Other

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 English muffins
  • chives or green onions for garnish

Recipe

Hollandaise Sauce

Bring a small saucepan of water to a simmer. Whisk the egg yolks and lemon juice together in a small, heatproof bowl (not over the heat yet) until thickened and doubled. Put the bowl over the saucepan of simmering water, whisking continuously. Whisk the melted butter in. Be careful to not let the bowl get too hot- it will cause the eggs to scramble. Whisk until the mixture is thick and doubled. Remove from heat and whisk in the salt and cayenne pepper.

Crabcakes

Mix together all of the ingredients, except for the breadcrumbs. Try to form a patty with about 1/4 cup of the mixture. If it falls apart, add enough breadcrumbs to make it cohesive. Form into 4 crabcakes. Heat butter in a skillet. Fry crabcakes for 3-4 minutes on each side.

Eggs

I used this tutorial, since I had never before poached an egg: http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/08/how-to-poach-an-egg-smitten-kitchen-style/.

Toast your English Muffins. Add a crabcake to each, then the egg, then the sauce. Garnish if you’d like with green onions or chives.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Crabcakes Benedict

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crabcakes Benedict at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

