My, My Chicken Pot Pie

December 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

Apparently winter does happen in Texas. This calls for hearty things stuffed in a pastry, of course.

I love hot, soupy, creamy dishes and was afraid I wouldn’t crave them much here since it was hot outside for so long. This past week has been quite the opposite, and a rare time for Austin December; our friends tell us it’s not uncommon to wear shorts in December, but the past few nights have been freezing or below freezing. While not “cold” by Chicago standards, where I was living previously, it’s definitely cold enough to crave hearty, stick-to-your-ribs dinners! (It also puts me in way more of a Christmas mood than when I was running around in sundresses a couple weeks ago. Trans Siberian orchestra Pandora debuted at our new apartment this past weekend. And I happened to stumble across Justin Bieber’s Christmas jams- too old to think teeny bopper tunes are awesome?)

Chicken pot pie is one of my favorite hearty, comfort foods- and I really don’t know why I don’t eat it more often. I was looking for a good recipe, since I had only ever made it pre-cooking days with cans of soup and Bisquick, but none of them looked good to me. So, I made one up.

I wanted to make mini individual pot pies, but I was too lazy come dough-making time to spend that much time cutting out little circles. But it would be super cute if you wanted to be more ambitious than I was 🙂

Ingredients:

Filling

  • 1 lb chicken breast, cubed
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • cooking oil
  • 1/2 – 3/4 tsp rosemary
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 T flour
  • 2-3 ribs celery, diced
  • 1/2 pound mushrooms, diced
  • 1 cup frozen mixed vegetables (or half a cup of peas, half a cup of diced carrots)
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 tsp celery salt
  • 1/2 cup cream

Crust

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 T butter, softened + more as needed
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • handful cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp oregano

Recipe

Sprinkle salt and pepper on both sides of your chicken breast. Heat oil in a large skillet/saucepan; when it is shimmery, add garlic. When the garlic is hot, add the chicken. Brown it all over, and then transfer it to the dish you will be using for the final product. (I used a 2.5Qt/2.3L round Corningware dish).

Melt butter in the same pan, scraping up the brown bits of left behind by the chicken. When it is melted, add your onions and saute until translucent. Mix in your flour and stir well. Add your celery and mushrooms, stir again. Add your broth, slowly, and stir the celery salt in. Add your frozen veggies and stir occasionally until simmering, then stir in your cream. Let the whole mixture simmer down until it thickens.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350° and make your crust. Mix the butter, flour, milk, baking powder, and salt together. (I used a Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook; a food processor would also work). When it comes together in a ball, work in your cheese and oregano. (The cheese is optional, but everything is better with cheese right? I used a 3 cheddar blend). If it seems dry, work in a little bit more butter until it is dough-like.

Roll out your dough into a circle big enough to cover your dish and stretch over the sides. Once your veggie mixture has thickened to your liking, pour it over the chicken. Give it a little stir, then cover the whole top of the dish with the crust. Poke holes/slits in the crust for steam to escape.  Bake in the oven for about 25 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

(Either at the beginning or up to 15 minutes into the baking, tear off thin strips of aluminum foil and press it over the edges of the crust so that it doesn’t burn).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My, My Chicken Pot Pie at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

