Maya Jambalaya

November 18, 2011 § 3 Comments

How fitting that one of my favorite foods rhymes with my name. So does one of my favorite fruits- any guesses? Good thing I kept the name Maya. For some reason when I was little, I hated the name Maya. Maybe because at that time it was far more unusual; teachers and students were unfamiliar with it and I felt like the weird kid in class. I went through one phase where I wanted to Plus if I’d changed it to Samantha, what delicious foods would I have to rhyme with my name?

I’ve made this a few times before (and made a vegetarian version- maybe I’ll save that post for Lent) but it’s been a while.  I started out using this recipe from Emeril. But I was missing a number of ingredients so I got the opportunity to wing it. We all know how much I like to follow recipes to a T….I was missing paprika (which I thought we had and maybe it’s still hiding in the pantry) and it was the main ingredient in Emeril’s Creole blend! The mixture I used was delicious and we didn’t miss the paprika at all. I also wanted to add more vegetables to the dish so winging it helped me to use up some of the stuff in our fridge.

I wish I’d made a double quantity because I am craving some more as I write this. Even my non-leftover-loving husband loved it.

Ingredients

Spice Blend (use tablespoons if you want extra; if not, I think 1/4 tsp would work well for the base measure)

  • 1 part cumin
  • 1.5 part chili powder
  • 2 parts garlic powder
  • 1 part black pepper
  • 1 part cayenne pepper
  • 1 part onion powder
  • 1 part dried oregano
  • 1 part dried thyme

Jambalaya

  • 1 T spice blend
  • 1 dozen medium shrimp, peeled, deveined, and chopped
  • 1 small chicken breast (about 6 oz) diced
  • 6 oz Andouille sausage
  • cooking oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 4 large mushrooms, diced
  • 1/2 small zucchini, diced
  • 1 large carrot, washed, peeled, and diced
  • 1/2 bell pepper (any color) diced
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 cup short grain brown rice
  • 3.5 cups chicken stock
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Recipe

Put chicken and shrimp in a bowl; add spice blend and mix well. Put mixture in the fridge.

In a large saucepan, saute the vegetables in oil for about 5 minutes. Add garlic, tomatoes, bay leaves, Worcestershire, and hot sauce. Add rice and mix well. Slowly add your broth, stirring the mixture as you add it in. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium and simmer, covered for 40 minutes (or until rice is tender. This will only take about 10 minutes if you use white rice). Add shrimp, chicken, and sausage and stir well. Cook until all 3 meats are cooked through.

Season to taste with salt, pepper, and more seasoning- each person can do this to their own bowl so it can be as spicy as you want it to be.

§ 3 Responses to Maya Jambalaya

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maya Jambalaya at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

