Korean BBQ Beef Short Ribs

November 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

Andrew and I are pretty lucky that we get to sit down together to a hot dinner nearly every night. This is possible because a)I love cooking and b)I am sans full-time job here and have the time to do ridiculous things like bake bread for hours. I do work at a local high school a few days a week, and only get home in the evening. If I thought teaching 2nd graders was exhuasting, high schoolers are no better! Needless to say, I’m way too tired when I come home on these days to begin cooking up a gourmet meal. (I suppose walking to and from the school also has something to do with that)

For this reason, our slow cooker is becoming our best friend. And to think I went 27 years barely using them. They are perfect for days where your afternoons/evenings are busy, and you can just come home to a hot, delicious dinner.  While I’ve had a few failed experiments, crock pots are overall pretty foolproof.

Unlike my husband, I am not a huge red meat lover. However, cooked in a crock pot it becomes super tender and delicious. Call me out for my “cheating” but the free cookbook that came with the Crockpot actually has some great ideas! This is where I got this recipe from. It was good- though I am a sauceaholic and had to douse it with chili garlic sauce.

Ingredients

  • 4-4.5 pounds beef short ribs
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup tamari or soy saucde
  • 1/2 cup beef broth or water
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp toasted sesame seeds
  • Rice or noodles, for serving
Recipe

Place the ribs in the slow cooker. Combine green onions, soy sauce, broth, brown sugar, ginger, garlic, and pepper; stir well and pour over the ribs. Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours. (You can also cook on high for 3-4 hours, but I think slower cooking usually tastes better).

Remove ribs from cooking liquid. When they have cooled enough to handle, trim the excess fat and cut the meat into bite- sized pieces.  Stir sesame oil into the cooking liquid and add the meat back in. Cover and cook on low for 15 minutes.  Serve with rice or noodles and garnish with sesame seeds.

If you make this a day ahead of time, you can put the liquid in the fridge and then discard all of the fat that forms at the top to reduce the fat level. When we refrigerated the leftovers, I found that there was a lot of solid fat hanging out on top. 

§ 2 Responses to Korean BBQ Beef Short Ribs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Korean BBQ Beef Short Ribs at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

