Fish Tacos

November 11, 2011 § 2 Comments

We had fish tacos the other week at our weekly Happy Hour and they were sooo good I wondered why I’ve never tried to make them.  I was pretty much excited all day yesterday to make and eat this dish. Unfortunately (for him), Andrew had to run to a meeting around dinnertime at short notice so he didn’t get to enjoy these…but boy did his wife devour them.

This dish is super simple and tastes really refreshing. I got it from one of my favorite blogs– haven’t tried something of hers I didn’t love! This version has rum (but why is the rum gone? Brownie points for guessing the movie…) but I’m going to try them again with tequila. I also think green chiles would be awesome if you like a little spice (hi Mom!).

I threw together a salad of corn, bell peppers, sauteed zucchini and mushrooms, cilantro, and delicious white cheese from the Mexican dairy section. Drizzled with just vinegar, lime juice, salt, and a little sure it was the perfect accompaniment. Next time I make it I promise to measure things so that I can post it on here.

Ingredients

  • 12 oz Mahi Mahi filets (or any other white, flaky fish- the original uses Tilapia)
  • 2 T rum
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 2 tsp lime zest (optional- I realized my lime was ready to meet its maker and I had to just the lime juice from a bottle. It was still delicious)
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 1/4 cup shallot or red onion, chopped
  • handful of cilantro, chopped
  • Tortillas for serving- we used taco-sized corn tortillas
Recipe

{fish, rum, lime juice, 1 tsp lime zest, sugar, garlic, salt and pepper}

Mix everything besides the fish well in a shallow container (or in a bowl if you are going to marinate in a ziplock).  Season your fish on both sides with salt and pepper; place it in the container or in a ziplock to marinate. Swirl the box/bag around so that the fish is coated well. Leave it in the fridge to marinate for half an hour to 2 hours.  Since I used a container, every so often I either swirled the box around again to make sure the tops of the fish were coated or simply turned the fish over.

After 2 hours, pan fry the fish until it is cooked through. The time will vary depending on how thick your filets are. For something thin like tilapia, you’ll only need a few minutes per side. The Mahi Mahi was about 1.5 inches thick which took a while longer. In the end you will flake the fish anyway- so if you need to break it up into little pieces to see if it’s cooked through, that’s fine.

{shallot/onion, avocado, cilantro}

Flake your fish in a bowl.

*If you are just making this for a regular dinner at home, you save some dishes if you just use a Pyrex container with a lid. That way you can prepare, serve, store, and reheat all in the same dish 🙂

Add your avocado, cilantro, and shallot/red onion and mix well. You can eat it alone or make it into tacos. I think it would be just as delicious cold!

§ 2 Responses to Fish Tacos

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fish Tacos at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

