Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Roll Eater

November 9, 2011 § 7 Comments

Cheater, because this is the recipe from the Libby’s can and neither creative nor my own. Pumpkin Roll Eater because…well..let’s just say not as much of this made it to Andrew’s office as planned.

So. Cans of Libby’s pureed pumpkin are large. Thus, I am still using the same can over and over and over. (Third “over” is a treat that I hope to be posting soon). Oh, and we still have 2 large cans in the pantry. Maybe we should just have a pumpkin fight or make a pumpkin slip and slide or something…

I got on this fall food bandwagon pretty late- are people already moving on to winter food? Just when I am getting to the bottom of can #1 of pumpkin? All I know is that I’m just really confused down here when I look out the window and see a bunch of green trees. The onset of Christmas hoopla makes it all the more confusing when it’s 80 degrees outside. So forgive me if I am being seasonally inappropriate over here.

A while back, Andrew’s coworkers were giving me a hard time about sending food for him all the time and never sending anything for the office. I believe I mentioned this back when I invented Take your Banana Bread to Work Day. One coworker had requested pumpkin bread, which I kept forgetting to make as the tupperware of pureed pumpkin got pushed further and further back in the fridge. Turns out that stuff lasts for a long time. When it re-emerged last week while rummaging through the fridge, I was determined to make this delicious pumpkin cream cheese roll that my roommate Lauren used to make all the time. I suppose this is another occasion to call me a cheater because anything + cream cheese frosting = delicious.

In other news, I had cream cheese frosting for breakfast today.

Ingredients

Roll

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2/3 c pureed pumpkin
  • 3/4 c flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking power

Filling

  • 1 c powdered sugar
  • 2/4 tsp vanilla
  • 4 T butter, softened
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
*This was actually so popular at Andrew’s office I made it again the very next day for their Thanksgiving lunch. I had run out of powdered sugar but regular worked just fine! 
Recipe

Preheat the oven to 375°. Line a 15x10x1 pan with parchment paper; grease and flour the paper.

{flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, baking soda, baking powder}

Sift the ingredients listed above together and set aside.

{eggs, sugar, pumpkin}

Beat your eggs and sugar together until thick. Add your pumpkin puree and beat again. When it is well mixed, slowly add your dry ingredients and combine until smooth. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 15-18 minutes or until it springs back when you touch it.

While the roll is baking, take a linen towel or paper towel (long enough to hold the roll) and sprinkle powdered sugar on it. When your roll is done baking, immediately turn it onto the sugared towel. Peel the parchment paper off, and then roll the…roll starting with the short end. Leave it to cool. I put mine on a cooling rack and it had little squares in the bottom- you can probably just leave it wrapped up in the towel.

{icing ingredients}

Beat together all of your filling ingredients. This makes a good amount of filling, so sample away. Wait until your roll is completely cool, then gently unroll it. Spread the filling all over it, and then roll it up again (without the towel this time!). Putting it in the fridge will make it easier to slice.

Lick the remaining cream cheese frosting off the spatula, beater, bowl, fingers…mmmm.

§ 7 Responses to Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Roll Eater

  • Angela says:

    Maya, this was absolutely delish! A triumph really – great cake to frosting ratio and super moist. I am proud to be a part of “the office” 🙂

    I gotta tell you, your blog is inspiring! I may just try my hand at this…and some of your other recipes too. Thank you for sharing!!!

  • Adam says:

    Andrew just scored points with the office crew, at least those of us that matter. If this is cheating then the results are worth it! I just had the pleasure of tasting these little pinwheels of holiday dessert pleasure and I’m a happy guy for doing so. Nice instructions – even an old dude with the propensity to drink too much eggnog can pull these off without a hitch.

    Thanks a ton and nice job!

    What are we getting tomorrow?

  • Maya says:

    haha Thanks Lei! It is definitely easy 🙂 Let me know how it turns out!

  • leila says:

    this sounds delicious! i have 2 cans of pumpkin that i bought on the first cool day of the season, but havent even touched them… im still wary of baking, but this sounds pretty easy! ps. you’re writing style makes me so happy, may – it’s like i can hear your voice when i read your words 🙂 giant leila smile!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Roll Eater at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

