Every Day I’m Butter-ing

October 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Or so it seems. I thought I’d add a “Tips” section to this blog. Things that save time/money/resources in the kitchen that you probably already know but maybe you don’t and I can be slightly helpful.

This is one I’ve been doing since high school. Does anyone else get weirded out by the super chemical-y smell that emerges from PAM and other sprays? I have never liked using that stuff. Also, butter wrappers- especially when the butter has been left out to soften- have delicious bits of butter all over them. Bits that are far more delicious and normal to be eating than chemical sprays. I’m just saying.

So, in the interest of letting as little go to waste as possible, I use these bits of butter to grease pans. When I finish a stick of butter, which is pretty often these days, I put the wrapper in the freezer in a ziplock bag.

Then, when I need to grease a pan, I just take out a wrapper and rub it all the pan. Sometimes I even go so far as to then use the wrappers in place of wax/parchment paper, but you don’t need to be quite such a weird recycler as me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Every Day I’m Butter-ing at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

