Chipotle Coconut Hummus

October 20, 2011 § 4 Comments

Sounds crazy right? I thought so too, and wasn’t expecting something nearly as delicious to emerge from my food processor.

I was craving hummus. I didn’t have tahini. Girl-that-doesn’t-waste-food still had a container of leftover chipotle peppers from the brisket I made with this. And, I have been on a recent coconut kick. All of the above led me to create this hummus, which was so good I used it as salad dressing just so I could eat more of it.

While lately I have been using a lot of recipes from others, this is classic Maya cooking: throw a bunch of stuff together and see what happens. Now that I’m cooking for 2, I’m slightly more hesitant to do that since there is less of a chance that BOTH of us will enjoy the result of the experiment.  This one was definitely better than I expected. I actually was on the verge of tasting the hummus to see what needed to be added- and for a rare moment in my life, no other spices were needed.

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves of garlic, or one ginormous one like I used
  • 2-3 T coconut oil (I bet you could sub shredded, unsweetened coconut if you don’t want to splurge on a random ingredient like this)
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce + a little of the sauce (these come in cans in the Mexican food aisle in the grocery store)
  • Water
Really Grueling Recipe
Throw everything in the food processor. If it is chunky, add a little water until it reaches your desired hummus consistency. Enjoy.


§ 4 Responses to Chipotle Coconut Hummus

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chipotle Coconut Hummus at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

