General Tso’s Chicken

October 10, 2011 § 3 Comments

Um this dinner was awesome. I’m so glad there’s a tiny bit left in the fridge after we got home from a wedding this weekend. (And Andrew helped me figure out tricks with the new flash! Score.) It was perfect, too, because this was made right before we headed to Cape Cod for an awesome wedding, and I didn’t have to go to the store at all.

I made this in advance before we headed out for my weekly workout a game of Ultimate Frisbee with our friends. I’m too ravenous to cook afterwards; this was even delicious reheated in the microwave. Not that I didn’t sneak some tastes when it was freshly made…

The one thing I am going to change next week is to add broccoli. I added mushrooms, but we had so many salad-y veggies to finish off before the trip that I didn’t want to open up the frozen broccoli I bought for this. Husbands can only stomach a certain amount of vegetables, after all. But broccoli would be awesome in this. Also, my mom will put a ton of garlic and ginger in the blender/food processor and make a big jar of “ginger garlic paste” which would be great for recipes like this. Because that ginger was not easy to chop up.

I got this recipe from My New Best Friend that Doesn’t Know It. It was during our “we are out of sugar” phase (which will be rectified today) so I substituted molasses and actually really liked it. I think it has a slighter sweetness than sugar, which goes well with my savory-over-sweet tooth. After I write this post I’ll probably go finish off the rest of it for breakfast.

Ingredients

Chicken

  • 1 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1 whole large egg white
  • 1/4 cups + 2 T cornstarch
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into pieces
  • oil for frying
Sauce
  • 1 T cooking
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T finely chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 cup chicken broth (I used cubes, but definitely using low-sodium next time since there’s already a lot of soy sauce)
  • 1/4 cups soy sauce
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1 tsp chili garlic sauce (more if you like it spicy)
  • 3 T sugar or molasses
Optional 
  • rice
  • scallions
  • mushrooms
  • steamed broccoli or any other veggie
Recipe
{all chicken ingredients}

Stir together sesame oil, soy sauce, egg white, and cornstarch until thick and mixed. Add the chicken and stir until evenly coated. The cornstarch makes the mixture pretty stiff and really hard to mix around but you can do it 🙂 Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for 20 minutes, stirring occastionally.

{chicken broth, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 T cornstarch, chili garlic sauce, sugar}

In a small bowl, whisk together the above ingredients until smooth.

{cooking oil, garlic, ginger}

Heat 1 T of oil in a large pan over medium high heat (high if you are using nonstick). Add the garlic and ginger and stir constantly until fragrant. It just just take a minute or so.

Pour sauce mixture into the pan and stir until it thickens and becomes shiny. Lower the heat to low and partially cover the pan to stay warm.

Add 2T of cooking oil to a separate frying pan and heat over medium-high heat. Add the chicken in 2 or 3 batches- they kind of are sticking together at this point so make sure you break them up in the pan. Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown. You’ll probably need to add more oil each time.  Transfer each batch to a paper-towel lined plate while you cook the rest.

Add all of the chicken to the sauce pan, coating each piece, and turn the heat up to medium. Add any veggies at this point too. Stir occasionally until everything is nice and hot. Serve over rice, topped with scallions.

§ 3 Responses to General Tso’s Chicken

  • Adam says:

    This is the second dish off of your blog that we’ve made. Very much the bomb! They didn’t have any green chilies so I got some jalapenos…close enough. I’ve never cooked with molasses until now. It was tasty and the jar had a recipe for some molasses cookies that I’m going to make tomorrow. Thanks for the food, you dudes rock!

  • Maya says:

    Thanks Ashu 🙂 It’s been lots of fun to do it. I think I’m going to attempt your biryani recipe next week even though I’m a little nervous my attempt at Indian food will fall short of all the women in the famiily…

  • ashu says:

    Maya, your blog is sooo Maya! Full of yr spirit and life ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading General Tso’s Chicken at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

