Look Mom No Butter! Apple Pumpkin Muffins

October 6, 2011 § 5 Comments

Ahhh fall. That means the internet is hopping with pumpkin recipes. Which made me jealous, because I had been unable to find pumpkin at our grocery stores at all. Is that because fall is still 88 degrees here? Hey I’m not complaining; I was hanging out poolside while my friends and family were battling not so lovable 40 and drizzle conditions last weekend. I did find some pumpkin at Target the other day, and bought 3 massive cans. Joke was on me though, since that was the day I was trying to prove that I didn’t need a car and walked multiple miles with 35 pounds of groceries.  Guess the husband was right…this time.

I have more plans for my large quantities of pumpkin, but this was my first attempt at using it. We are going out of town this weekend, so I just wanted to make a mini batch of something. Due to all of my baking, we are out of butter and white sugar (which I failed to realize on 35-pounds-of-groceries day) so I just improvised. Which is interesting, since the resulting recipe is pretty healthy. Andrew couldn’t tell the difference. The pumpkin and applesauce in it makes it moist and the apples are delicious after being in the oven. I would say they do taste healthier than regular muffins, but still very tasty.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup of sugar (white, brown, or any combination)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 peeled, chopped apples
Recipe (makes 12 muffins)

Preheat the oven to 350 °.  Grease a 12 cup muffin pan. Mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a small bowl and set aside. In a larger bowl, mix applesauce, white sugar, and 1/2 cup of the brown sugar. Mix well, breaking up all of the little brown sugar clumps. Add the egg and mix again. Stir in the pumpkin. Add the dry ingredients in 3 additions, stirring each time. Lastly, add the chopped apples.

Spoon the mixture into your muffin pan, filling up each cup all the way. Sprinkle the remaining brown sugar on the top of the muffins. Bake for 20 minutes on center rack.

Let the muffins cool for 5-10 minutes in the pan, and then remove them from the pan to cool all the way.


§ 5 Responses to Look Mom No Butter! Apple Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Look Mom No Butter! Apple Pumpkin Muffins at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

