Easy Dark Chocolate Oatmeal

October 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

I love oatmeal for breakfast. I thought I only loved it in the winter, but turns out I love it always. Plain oatmeal is great, but I rarely eat it that way. Peanut butter and jelly oatmeal is one of my favorites, as well as peanut butter banana, peanut butter honey (are you sensing a theme?), and dark chocolate peanut butter. OOoo banana honey is a good non-PB flavor.

Lately I have been craving dark chocolate, and it’s probably because I don’t have my stock of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate bars like I used to. We don’t have a Trader Joe’s here, and I can never justify splurging on good quality chocolate bars. The commercial ones are way too sickly sweet for me. So basically: chocolate deprived.

I don’t have a super huge sweet tooth, especially in the mornings. Turns out bananas are great for sweetening things mildly. They are perfect for this since it has that delicious, bitterish dark chocolate taste. Feel free to add some sugar/honey if you like things a little sweeter.

Update: This wasn’t an original ingredient, but the other day I add 1 T of coconut oil and it was soooo good. It’s definitely good without it, but SO rich and delicious with it.

Ingredients

  • Oats (1/2 cup for a single serving)
  • Banana
  • Cocoa Powder (Hershey’s Special Dark is great)
  • Water or milk (1/2 cup)
  • Optional: 1 T coconut oil
Recipe

Break your banana into smaller pieces in a bowl. Microwave it for 45 seconds. (Sounds weird, but hear me out). It brings out the sweetness of the banana- have you ever had fried plantains?

Add your oats, milk/water,  (optional coconut oil) and cocoa powder and stir. Microwave for 45 seconds to a minute more. Stir it all up again, mashing the bananas up so they get distributed evenly. Taste it to see if you need to add more sweetener.

Mmmmmm. Close up.

§ One Response to Easy Dark Chocolate Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easy Dark Chocolate Oatmeal at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

