Tomato Sausage Risotto

October 3, 2011 § 2 Comments

So, apparently you cook meat a lot when you live with a boy. I haven’t cooked meat or seafood for myself in yeeeears since I used to try to eat mostly vegetarian food. (For the environmental impact, not because I didn’t like it. Seems like I actually do really really like it and have a hard time resisting it now.) Sausage seems to especially be invading our kitchen lately. Maybe because you usually only buy it in quantities where you’d have to cook it multiple times? Who knows, but these days I always smell like fried sausage. So I hope the residents of Austin, TX enjoy that smell, as I suspect they do.

We had some leftover sausage from this and I was looking for a way to use it. I can’t stand to waste anything, but I also don’t like to have things sitting in the freezer for too long. I’ve been making a lot of Italian food- you really can’t go wrong with it, and it’s Andrew’s favorite. But I hadn’t made risotto since moving here and I looove risotto! I found this recipe from my Most Trusted Advisor and thought it was perfect. AND the only thing I had to buy was the rice- score!

Normally, you add broth/water to the rice slowly to cook it. This version has you mix a can of tomatoes with water and add that to the rice. The result is really cream and tomatoey- and awesome. However, I don’t suggest you sample a “small” bowl of this prior to engaging in an intense Ultimate Frisbee Game. Yikes. Anyhow, here is the recipe. The original calls for spinach, but I had eaten all the spinach in our house so we did without.

Vegetarians- I’d say sub another veggie for the sausage, but add more seasonings since the sausage adds so much flavor. Maybe saute mushrooms with garlic and Italian spices first?

Ingredients

  • 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3/4 pound Italian sausage
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 T butter
Recipe

{tomatoes, water}

Bring the tomatoes and 3 cups of water to a simmer, then turn the heat to low to keep warm.

{oil, sausage, onions, rice, wine}

Heat the oil over medium, then add your sausage and onions.  Cook until onion is translucent and sausage doesn’t have any pink parts (about 5 minutes). Add rice and stir it so that it’s fully coated. Add wine, and stir mixture until the wine is fully absorbed. Add 2 cups of the tomato mixture, simmer, stirring occasionally until liquid is absorbed. Add one cup at a time from now on, waiting for each cup to be absorbed before adding the next. When the last bit of liquid has been absorbed remove from heat.

{salt and pepper, cheese, butter}

Add salt and pepper to taste, then stir in cheese and butter. If you are so lucky as to have a basil plant that grows well and doesn’t cower in its pot hating the 100 degree September weather, basil would be awesome on top. Eat immediately- it gets thicker/mushier (still good though) as it sits.
§ 2 Responses to Tomato Sausage Risotto

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tomato Sausage Risotto at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

