A Very Delicious Birthday

September 15, 2011 § 2 Comments

My first one as a married woman.  As usual, I was thinking about food all day. I was too sleepy to get out of bed when Andrew had to wake up and go to work (it’s my birthday, I get to sleep in- duh!), so I ended up making my own breakfast when I rolled out of bed at 9 am. I made these pancakes, which were pretty healthy so I generously slathered them with butter and syrup.  Photo is NOT mine- I wish it was though! Photo credit.

Andrew came home at lunch, and I had no idea what the plans were. Turned out my mom had guessed correctly, and he took me on a surprise picnic! We drove to a part of the lakeside path that’s like a mini peninsula with a gazebo on it.  “I knew it! Andrew is my kind of guy!” said my mom. Our lunch was reminiscent of our honeymoon lunches, where we’d try to save money and appetite so we could go big at dinner. (This blog was driving me crazy and I couldn’t get the pictures to line up the way I wanted them to).

The spread: French bread, habanero jack cheese, mangoes, and Pringles

Dinner. We have been excited for this dinner for about a month now. My cousin Tanya and her fiance Kevin gave us a gift card here for our wedding. The best restaurant in Austin, head chef that was on Iron Chef, etc., etc., etc. It was amazing. We were overwhelmed by not knowing what anything was on the menu, so we let our waitress decide our fate. And what a delicious fate it was.  We counted 8 courses, and unfortunately were too busy devouring them to take pictures. The sushi pictured below was the most non-unique thing we ate, and even that was the best sushi I’ve ever had. Other dishes were things like pork jowl, wagyu beef, Japanese sea bream, “walu walu”…okay now I’m salivating.

Sake, pinky up. Fancy pants right?

Why drink from a glass when you can drink from a box? DOUBLE pinkies up. And delicious sushi.

For dessert, we got the one that was "different." Coriander creme brulee, carrot sorbet, and a bunch of other things I can't remember. Sounds fishy, tasted delicious. Most fun cheers ever (above).

§ 2 Responses to A Very Delicious Birthday

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Very Delicious Birthday at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

