Aunty Rita’s Banana Bread

September 12, 2011 § 3 Comments

“You have to tell me who made this banana bread so I can find them and ask them to run away with me.”  True quote from a guest at our wedding this summer.  My aunt, and godmother, had generously made about a bazillion loaves of different types of breads for our hospitality suite; clearly, they received accolades.  I believe this man did actually find my aunt and actually ask her to run away with him 🙂 My Uncle Peter is too good of a catch though, so tough luck for the Banana Bread Admirer. This bread was also a favorite of my cousins’ friends and my friends in college when my aunt would make it for us.

We were out to lunch with Andrew’s coworkers last week, and they were giving me a hard time for sending Andrew homemade snacks every day and never sending anything for them. One of them requested pumpkin bread, which I had planned on making (up).  However, the grocery store I went to did not want to sell me pumpkin in September, so I will have to try again on that one. (Perhaps it has something to do with fall being 94 degrees here?) But I figured I can’t fail with such a popular banana bread recipe! If any of his coworkers ask me to run away with them though, I think I’ll have to politely decline.

Though I usually don’t stick to the recipe, I did for this one. Writing this post makes me want to steal a LOT of my Mom’s recipes….problem is- which one?  And could I ever do it justice? Every time I come home my mom asks what I want her to make and I can never pick one favorite. I was very lucky growing up that BOTH of my parents were excellent cooks.  I can only hope to be half as good!

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
Other:  Loaf Pan

Recipe

Preheat oven to 350°, grease and flour a loaf pan.

{flour, baking powder, sugar, baking soda, salt}

Whisk the above ingredients together in a large bowl and set aside.

{bananas, oil, eggs}

Whisk your eggs together, then add mashed bananas and oil.  Fold wet and dry ingredients together. Pour into floured and greased pan and bake for 50 minutes-1 hour depending on your oven.

§ 3 Responses to Aunty Rita’s Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Aunty Rita’s Banana Bread at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

