Low-Fat 5 Minute Skillet-Cookie in a Bowl

September 6, 2011 § 8 Comments

If you cook for only 1 or 2, you know that it’s often hard to bake. You end up with a full batch of treats which just don’t taste the same a few days later when they aren’t fresh. Plus a million bowls, mixing spoons, etc. to wash. What if you could make fresh dessert every day and it only took you 5 minutes? And could be made in one cereal bowl? AND it wasn’t crazy bad for you?

Have you ever had one of those awesome skillet cookies at a restaurant that comes out freshly baked and covered with ice cream? Welcome to the skillet cookie in a bowl.  It is basically a result of experimenting by throwing ingredients together until you have something that resembles dough, and then microwaving it.  I don’t even think these measurements have to be exact (I’ve made this a lot and this was the first time I’ve measured)- just make sure everything blends together. Perfect size for a 1 or 2 person dessert 🙂 And so easy you can make it every night. Or morning- I wanted another picture of this guy so I just made myself one- for breakfast.

Chocolate chip is a no fail favorite, but you could experiment with different types of cookies. Or, blend cocoa into the mix and make a chocolate cookie. Oh my wheels are turning…Maybe I’ll try a brownie in a bowl next…Here’s me, excited to devour my skillet cookie after our disappointing fantasy football draft.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup + 2 TBSP flour (we used white whole wheat)
  • 1 TBSP sugar (I don’t have a crazy strong sweet tooth, so you may find that you need more)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3 TBSP applesauce
  • 4 TBSP water
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 TBSP chocolate chips (more or less depending on your preference)
If you want to sub for the sugar, I’m sure you easily could. I don’t use any artificial sweeteners so I can’t tell you for sure though! I am interested in trying it with either brown sugar or agave nectar though.
Recipe
Nothing fancy here. Mix dry ingredients (minus chocolate chips), stir in wet ones, and then add your chocolate chips. Microwave for 1.5 minutes.  It’s delicious the way it is, and minus the chocolate chips it is pretty healthy. If you aren’t dying for it to be totally healthy, you can do what we did:
§ 8 Responses to Low-Fat 5 Minute Skillet-Cookie in a Bowl

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Low-Fat 5 Minute Skillet-Cookie in a Bowl at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

