Creamy Dijon Salmon

November 21, 2012 § 2 Comments

YUM. This dinner was awesome. So awesome that Andrew scraped his plate clean even after he’d just said he wasn’t hungry for dinner since he had just eaten a huge meal. I saw it on one of my favorite blogs and have been drooling at the pictures and description ever since. So, when Andrew said he wasn’t hungry for dinner, I made it anyway since I had been dreaming about it all day at work and couldn’t wait to eat it. Okay, now I’m looking at it and I want to eat it again.

The sauce is super delicious, and adds moisture to the dish, and the breadcrumbs give it more texture. Sage, something I’ve always wanted to cook with but just hadn’t yet, also makes a delicious appearance. And is now added to the list of herbs I’m obsessed with. After all my salmon was gone, I won’t deny that I filled my plate up again with leftover sauce and breadcrumbs and just ate that.

By the way, I’m currently trying to play catch up here and preparing multiple posts…and am now starving even though I just ate a big bowl of mac and cheese. Maybe I should have chosen something like “exercise” or “cleaning my house” to blog about and made myself more productive instead of just hungrier…

Anyway, make this. And enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 2 salmon fillets (ours were probably 1/2 pound each)
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1.5 T butter
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced and divided
  • 1 small shallot, diced
  • 2 T fresh sage, chopped
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk, cream, or half and half
  • 1.5 T Dijon mustard
  • Optional: Capers. I think they would have been delicious in this dish, but unfortunately didn’t think of them until later. If you use them, you can either cook them with everything else or sprinkle them on top in the end.

Recipe

Season your salmon on both sides with salt and pepper and set aside.

Heat 1 T of butter in a skillet. Stir in 2 of the garlic cloves. When the garlic is fragrant, add the breadcrumbs. Toss the mixture for a few minutes, until slightly golden and set aside.

Add oil to a large skillet. When it’s hot, add your salmon. If your salmon has skin, put it skin up. Let it cook until it is done (opaque in the middle). If your salmon is skinless, flip it after 3 or 4 minutes. Remove the salmon and set aside. Add 1/2 T butter, garlic, sage, and shallot and stir well. Let it cook for a minute or two until it sizzles. Add wine and let it cook until it bubbles and reduces a little (3ish minutes). Whisk in your milk and mustard. Keep whisking while the mixture thickens. If you’d like to add additional seasonings or increase any of the ingredients, go for it. You can let it thicken as much as you’d like.

Spoon some sauce on top of each piece of salmon and then sprinkle with breadcrumbs.

 

 

§ 2 Responses to Creamy Dijon Salmon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creamy Dijon Salmon at Dessert is in a Different Pocket.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

